responsive image

Get Inside Access to the Latest News on the Trails

With Annual Membership in Riders Club

Coming Soon!



About is the trail riders resource for all things Hatfield-McCoy Trails….. and it’s much more. Our intent is to provide a detailed and accurate look at the trails, surrounding lodging, and amenities that you, the trail rider, are looking for so that you can easily plan your next visit to Hatfield-McCoy. We have designed this site with the trail rider in mind every step of the way. And, in order for us to continue putting the trail rider first, we want your questions and input! What more would you like to see added to this site? Please let us know at


About the Trails

Hatfield-McCoy, located in southern West Virginia, is a network of OHV (off-highway vehicle) trails open to ATVs (All Terrain Vehicles), SxS (Side by Sides), Dirt Bikes, and 4×4 (four wheel drive vehicles). Other OHVs may be approved for use according to the HMRRA rules and regulations. Each Hatfield-McCoy Trail “system” is made up of adjoining trails that are categorized as easiest, more difficult, most difficult, extreme difficult, and single track trails. The trails are color coded and numbered on corresponding trail marker signs and user maps to make for user friendly navigation. Rating each trail is done by HMRRA and are made for each system independent from other trail systems. This means, for example, that an easiest trail on one trail system may be rated as a more difficult trail on another trail system.


Past, Present, Future

The trails, primarily located on privately owned land, are managed by a public West Virginia State Agency, the HMRRA (Hatfield-McCoy Regional Recreation Authority). A very unique public-private creation, it took from its inception in 1991 to October 2000 for the trails to open to the public with three trail systems: Bearwallow, Rockhouse, and Buffalo Mountain. Since then, the HMRRA has opened six additional trails, four of which are still open. Pinnacle Creek, Indian Ridge, Pocahontas, and the Devil Anse trails in addition to the original Bearwallow, Rockhouse, and Buffalo Mountain Trails currently exist and are open to the public. The Little Coal River and Ivy Branch trails closed in 2015 due to a private sale of the property. As a state agency managing use on mostly private property, the concept is not full-proof and closures like these can happen at any time.  Plans for the future of Hatfield-McCoy have been to open trails in these and each of the project counties.


How It Works

The HMRRA area is made up of nine adjoining counties: Boone, Lincoln, Logan, Kanawha, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Wayne, and Wyoming.  The agency, its director, and its staff are overseen by a Board of Directors made up of representatives from these nine counties, landowner representatives, and others. Trails currently exist in five counties: Logan, Mingo, McDowell, Mercer, Wyoming. The closed trails of Little Coal and Ivy Branch were located in Boone, Lincoln, and Kanawha. Wayne is the only county in the project area not to have ever had HM trails open at one time.  Future trail additions to the Hatfield-McCoy in remaining counties are dictated primarily by license agreements between land owners and the HMRRA. License agreement signings are rarely predictable.

Photo Gallery

View on Flickr

Get Your Hatfield-McCoy Trails T-Shirts and More!

Online Shop